Homepreschool and Beyond

*Relationship *Routine *Readiness *Reading Aloud

  • Categories

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 197 other followers

  • A Balanced Approach:

    Homepreschool and Beyond will give parents the knowledge they need to find “balance” for their family. Find out what young children need to know—and how to teach it. Gain the confidence you need to relax and enjoy those precious preschool years—and beyond.

    “Susan Lemons gives you the blueprint…”

    • 26 Chapters
    • Covers all areas of development
    • Covers all areas of curriculum
    • For a ages 2-8
    • Developmentally appropriate
    • Literature based
    • Spiritual and character building emphasis

Changes, Changes

Posted by homeschoolmentormom on May 24, 2011


  Just a quick post tonight: I’ve made some changes to my sidebars, so please take a look and let me know what you think. I’ve added a section on “what we’ve been doing lately”–I’d like to share a little more about how our homeschool works. Perhaps it will give you some ideas to try in your homeschool.

   One of the things we do is use Charlotte Mason’s memory verse system; you can see our new verses now on the sidebar. I added portions of our “house rules” to the system as well…I may add hymns later on, for review. For now we just do a “hymn of the month”: We sing a certain hymn every day until we’ve learned at least the chorus and the first verse. (I believe that hymns are very important! They are a part of our spiritual heritage; they teach doctrine, and the Lord uses them to comfort us just when we need it.)  I’ve also included information about music (the composer we’re listening to) and will later add info on the books we’re reading, favorite projects, etc, so let me know what you think.

   Finally: I’d like to add a “question of the month” post, so please submit your questions. Right now I’m working on a post about homepreschooling gifted children. I’ve also got some curriculum reviews coming up, and later I hope to add lots more posts about art and play.

   Please add a comment and let me know what you think and what you’d like to see on my blog. 

    ~Susan

© 2011 Susan Lemons all rights reserved.  Copyrighted materials may not be re-distributed or re-posted without express permission from the author.

4 Responses to “Changes, Changes”

  1. LaToya said

    maybe you posted this and I just missed it but what are you using (other than the Bible) for character study?

  2. Kayla said

    More curriculum reviews would be so helpful. I use your book as a guidebook for my little ones homeschooling. I so appreciate your book, I would be lost without it.The books on your book lists have been loved by my children. We have enjoyed the games and other suggestions. I would love to see more about what you are doing in your homeschool and I have LOTS of questions I can submit.

    • Kayla said: ” I use your book as a guidebook for my little ones homeschooling. I so appreciate your book, I would be lost without it.The books on your book lists have been loved by my children. We have enjoyed the games and other suggestions.”
      Wow, Kayla, thank-you! I’m so glad to hear that Homepreschool and Beyond has been a blessing to you!
      I will add more about what we are doing homeschool-wise (even though my boys are older), and I am planning more book/curriculum reviews.
      Go ahead and post your questions, and I will try to answer some of them. If you’d like (just say the word!) I’ll email you so that we can talk in person!
      Blessings,
      Susan

Leave a Reply

 
