Homepreschool and Beyond

*Relationship *Routine *Readiness *Reading Aloud

  • Categories

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 193 other subscribers
  • A Balanced Approach:

    Homepreschool and Beyond will give parents the knowledge they need to find “balance” for their family. Find out what young children need to know—and how to teach it. Gain the confidence you need to relax and enjoy those precious preschool years—and beyond.

    “Susan Lemons gives you the blueprint…”

    • 26 Chapters
    • Covers all areas of development
    • Covers all areas of curriculum
    • For a ages 2-8
    • Developmentally appropriate
    • Literature based
    • Spiritual and character building emphasis

Valentine’s Day Poems, Finger Plays, Felt Boards, Games, etc

Posted by homeschoolmentormom on January 23, 2011


Special note:  I’ll be re-posting my Valentine’s Day posts so that they will be easier for you to find.  It may seem early, but if you want to plan your units/make any felt boards or finger play play props/purchase any books (or reserve them at the library), now’s the time. 

     I collected most of these as a college student or as a preschool teacher.  These were given to me by other teachers, minus the original source.  If anyone knows the proper source, please let me know so that I can give credit where credit is due.

 Poems-Just for Fun (these can be recited or used on homemade cards):

 *Pucker you lips, close your eyes, you’re going to get a big surprise!

 *Do you love me or do you not?  You told me once, but I forgot.

 *I could not find a valentine, Meant just for you, for me to sign.

I thought and thought and then you see, I thought that I would give you me!

Two eyes that smile, two lips that kiss, And all my love come with this.

So here I am for you so fine, Here’s just myself-your Valentine.

(Discuss-how do eyes “smile”?  Fun idea:  Make a heart into a necklace, and let your child “give himself” to Grandma and Grandpa.)

 *This brings a very special prayer:  God keep you always in His care. 

And day by day, may you be blessed, With all that makes you happiest.

Happy Valentine’s Day!

 Felt Board Fun:

 Valentines

One red valentine, two red valentines, three red valentines, four.

We cut and cut and paste and paste, and then we make some more.

(Cut ten red hearts out of felt for this one.  You could number them, if you wanted to use them to introduce/practice number recognition/order.)  Lay them on the felt board as you say the poem; count “how many more” there are.)

 Five Little Valentines

 One little valentine said, “I love you.”  _______made another, and then there were two.

Two little valentines, one for me!  _______made another, and then there were three.

Three little valentines said, “We need one more.”  _______made another, and then there were four.

Four little valentines, one more to arrive;  _______make another, and then there were five.

Five little valentines, all ready to say, “Be my Valentine this happy day.”  

(Make the valentines by gluing felt or interfacing onto the back of store-bought valentines.  Alternately, you can glue the valentines onto tongue-depressors. You can use these for the next poem, too.)

Counting Valentines

Valentines, valentines, how many do you see?  Valentines, valentines, Count them with me.

One for father, one for mother, one for granny too;  One for sister, one for brother…and here is one for YOU!  (This is also a finger play; see below. Idea:  Add felt numbers to this one.)

 *Valentines Songs

(Sung to Farmer in the Dell):

My valentine is red, my valentine is blue,  Put them in the let-ter box and mail it off to you.

The mailman picks it up,  And sends it on to you.

And when it gets in-to your hands, it says “I love you true.”

 Also don’t forget:  Jesus Loves Me/You Are my Sunshine/I love you, a Bushel and a Peck/Jesus Loves the Little Children/etc

Finger Plays

 A Valentine

Snippity-snip my scissors go, (pretend to cut with fingers)

Cutting my paper to and fro  (cut one way, then the other)

Make a big red heart to be  (shape heart with arms & hands)

A valentine to you from me.  (point to self, the point to another.)

Counting Valentines

Valentines, valentines, how many do you see?  Valentines, valentines, Count them with me.

One for father, (hold up thumb)  one for mother, (hold up pointer finger)

One for granny too; (hold up middle finger)  one for sister, (hold up ring finger)

One for brother, (hold up little finger)   and here is one for YOU!  (Make heart shape with thumbs and pointer fingers.

Paper Hearts and Parachute (or blanket) Game

This is a game I made up to use with my parachute.  (For home use, you can substitute a small blanket.)  It works well with large or small groups.

Preparation:  Cut paper hearts out of construction paper.  How many?  This depends on the size of your group, and your blanket!  For family use, I would guess 40-50; for only one child, 20 or so. 

        Here is how you play the game:  Have children grab the sides of the blanket.  Tell them, “I’m going to put the hearts on the blanket in just a minute.  When I do, I want you to shake the blanket/parachute as hard as you can. As soon as all the hearts are off the blanket/parachute, I’ll say, ‘Go,’ and then you can let go of the parachute and pick up all the hearts you can.”  After the children have picked up the hearts, you can:

-Have them count their hearts; they can trade one heart for one small candy.  (Or two hearts = one candy.)

-For older children:  Before the game, write numbers on all the hearts (+1, +0, +2, -1, etc.)  After the children have picked up their hearts, have them add the numbers together.  This is the number of candies they receive. 

© 2010 Susan Lemons all rights reserved.  Copyrighted materials may not be re-distributed or re-posted without express permission from the author.

Leave a comment